ECJ rule during transition?

May concedes continuing rule of EU court in Brexit transition

Download Perspecs

The Court of Justice - UK in a changing Europe

The Court of Justice of the European Union (CJEU) is the European Union’s court. It is a significant and controversial institution and has been responsible for a number of substantial developments in the European Union’s history. It has taken very seriously the task given to it under the Treaties of ensuring that the law is observed, and has developed various mechanisms to make enforcement more effective. It has, for example, held that EU law takes precedence over national law, can be used in cases before national courts and that individuals can sue the government in national courts for the government’s failure to comply with EU law.

Decisions of the Court have taken EU law into new areas, such as company mergers, fundamental rights and the power for the EU to sign international agreement in fields other than trade, such as the environment or transport. It has established significant new principles, such as ‘the right to be forgotten’ in data protection, it has advanced individual rights significantly, most notably the rights of working women.

When people talk about the CJEU, they are usually referring to the European Court of Justice (ECJ). However, the CJEU is actually comprised of three courts: the European Court of Justice, the General Court and the European Civil Service Tribunal.

Read Full Article
Download Perspecs
Download Perspecs