New year honours?

Ringo Starr finally gets a knighthood

Download Perspecs

Strictly's Darcey becomes a Dame

A total of 1,123 people were given New Year Honours awards this year, with 318 getting a BEM, 452 an MBE, and 211 an OBE. The rest were given other awards,such as knighthoods or damehoods, or other honours.

Around 70% of the recipients were recognised for their work in their local community, in either a voluntary or paid capacity..

There were 551 women recognised, representing 49% of the total. Just over 9% of recipients were from a BAME background, and 5% consider themselves to have a disability.

Around 11% of the awards are for work in education, while health sector recipients make up 10% of all honours.

The list of sports stars - who make up 4% of gongs - is smaller than last year when the New Year Honours were dominated by heroes from the Rio Olympics.

Among the recipients are Darcey Bussell, Barry Gibb, Eamonn Holmes, Ringo Starr, England Women's cricketer Heather Knight, Grime star Wiley, British and Irish Lions rugby star Sam Warburton, Nick Clegg and organ donation campaigner Lucia Mee.

Officials said future lists would see honours for "inspirational action" by people following the Grenfell Tower fire and the terror attacks in London and Manchester.

With one of the highest honours, Helen Sharman joins the Order of St Michael and St George - 26 years after becoming the first British astronaut with her journey to the Soviet Mir Space Station.

Her new CMG is for services to education in science and technology.

Alexandra Shulman, who recently stood down as editor of British Vogue after 25 years; actor Hugh Laurie; and leading artificial intelligence researcher Demis Hassabis are made CBEs.

There were only two years where the list wasn't released on New Year - 1902 when it was instead published on the King's birthday the previous November and in 1940 due to the outbreak of World War Two.

The idea is to celebrate those who have achieved something, given to public life or served the country.

How they're judged

Nominations are judged on:

degree of risk how aware the nominee was of the danger persistence

People are also given honours for achievements such as:

making a difference to their community or field of work enhancing Britain’s reputation long-term voluntary service innovation and entrepreneurship changing things, with an emphasis on achievement improving life for people less able to help themselves displaying moral courage

Download Perspecs
Download Perspecs